Mother of all Trades Forums

Plumbing Heating A/C Electrical Refrigeration Sheet Metal
It is currently Thu Aug 16, 2018 2:01 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2016 8:10 pm 
Offline
Senior PHA/CER
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 10:31 pm
Posts: 4508 [ View ]
Location: In the middle of the ocean, clinging to my sanity, it's all I have left
Has thanked: 8406 times
Been thanked: 3740 times
I have a little electric lead furnace. It was working OK before I stored it away 6 months ago.

Now my shop is all rewired, so I tried to use it tonight. After awhile of being on, the GFCI outlet I had it plugged into began to trip. Several different outlets, same thing. If I recall correctly, I didn't have it plugged into a GFCI before, and never an issue with it.

Would the resistance element(s) somehow give the GFCI a fit?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2016 8:36 pm 
Offline
Plumbing Specialist

Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 8:14 pm
Posts: 1265 [ View ]
Location: fl
Has thanked: 1283 times
Been thanked: 899 times
Probably one of the elements has a slight current leak to ground,


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2016 8:56 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 2:13 am
Posts: 3891 [ View ]
Location: Melbourne Australia
Has thanked: 3355 times
Been thanked: 3614 times
Is a GFCI, an earth leakage detector?

_________________
Giggity


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2016 9:08 pm 
Offline
Plumbing Specialist
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 8:50 pm
Posts: 3439 [ View ]
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 1075 times
Been thanked: 2868 times
Adamche wrote:
Is a GFCI, an earth leakage detector?

yup.

ground fault circuit interupter

_________________
A hundred years from now, they will gaze upon my work and marvel at my skills but never know my name. And that will be good enough for me - Dan Holohan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2016 9:13 pm 
Offline
Plumbing Specialist
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 8:50 pm
Posts: 3439 [ View ]
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 1075 times
Been thanked: 2868 times
phishfood wrote:
I have a little electric lead furnace. It was working OK before I stored it away 6 months ago.

Now my shop is all rewired, so I tried to use it tonight. After awhile of being on, the GFCI outlet I had it plugged into began to trip. Several different outlets, same thing. If I recall correctly, I didn't have it plugged into a GFCI before, and never an issue with it.

Would the resistance element(s) somehow give the GFCI a fit?

I know continuous running things like pumps can have slight amperage fluctuations that can cause gfci to trip. Some are more sensitive than others.

Id be willing to bet the amperage is fluctuation on the furnace and its causing the gfci to false trip.

_________________
A hundred years from now, they will gaze upon my work and marvel at my skills but never know my name. And that will be good enough for me - Dan Holohan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2016 9:28 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 2:13 am
Posts: 3891 [ View ]
Location: Melbourne Australia
Has thanked: 3355 times
Been thanked: 3614 times
Possibly too much amperage draw?

_________________
Giggity


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2016 9:51 pm 
Offline
Senior PHA/CER
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 10:31 pm
Posts: 4508 [ View ]
Location: In the middle of the ocean, clinging to my sanity, it's all I have left
Has thanked: 8406 times
Been thanked: 3740 times
Adamche wrote:
Possibly too much amperage draw?

Checked that, just under 7 amps. I run 15 amp stuff on a regular basis with no issues.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2016 10:49 pm 
Offline
Senior PHA/CER
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 10:31 pm
Posts: 4508 [ View ]
Location: In the middle of the ocean, clinging to my sanity, it's all I have left
Has thanked: 8406 times
Been thanked: 3740 times
Swapped out one of the GFCI outlets for an old standard outlet I had laying around, and ran the furnace for 1 1/2 hours without an incident.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2016 1:11 pm 
Offline
Senior PHA/CER
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 7:54 pm
Posts: 4955 [ View ]
Location: VA
Has thanked: 3406 times
Been thanked: 3751 times
phishfood wrote:
Swapped out one of the GFCI outlets for an old standard outlet I had laying around, and ran the furnace for 1 1/2 hours without an incident.



Perhaps a weak spring in that particular outlet? Try installing a new GFCI and see just for kicks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 9:51 pm 
Offline
Senior PHA/CER
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 10:51 pm
Posts: 686 [ View ]
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 578 times
Did you ever figure out that your melting pot does have a short to ground like mississippiguy said? A melting pot would be right behind incandescent lightbulb for a non fluctuating load. It's a short.

Measure the resistance between the hot prong and the ground prong, or just lick your finger and touch the pot when it is plugged in ;)

_________________
-skoro

I have a skepticism for anything I don't feel I fully understand. If you can unequivically prove to me that you are right I will concede, until then I will question everything especially my own theories, and I urge you to do the same.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 10:32 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 8:03 pm
Posts: 7742 [ View ]
Has thanked: 5581 times
Been thanked: 6335 times
Pretty common on resistance loads. Some coffee pots are bad about it as well. The newer gfci seems to better handle it.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. What makes the alarm come on?

in Electrical (public)

Captain

3

1720

Fri Oct 10, 2014 8:44 pm

mississippiguy View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Plumbing vs. HVAC which makes you more money?

[ Go to page: 1, 2 ]

in Business(public)

SirPlumb

24

2092

Tue Sep 10, 2013 11:27 pm

pilot light View the latest post


All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group